Distance Education Technologies

Moodlemoodle-logo

Website: https://moodle.org/

Moodle is a course management system (CMS) that is great for educators. Many higher education schools use Moodle. You can set up online classes, gradebooks and more. It is user friendly to the host and the participants. You can make quizzes that automatically grade themselves as well as set the percentage for each project given. Moodle allows the user to embed videos from other sites for your students. This is a great tool to use in an online environment. It is also a great way to keep up with students because it allows a person to send emails through Moodle directly or instant message.

Blackboard

blackboard_learn

 

Website: http://www.blackboard.com/

Blackboard is one of the first course management systems that I have had the pleasure working with in an online environment. It is easy to use and works similar to Moodle. I do find Moodle a little more user friendly probably because that is what I use now in my online classes and I have gotten used to it. I use it now in the graduate school that I attend and it is very user friendly and has videos and modules for me to go through each week. This is a good tool to use for online learning.

 

3 thoughts on “Distance Education Technologies

  1. Hi Kinney,
    I have never tried Moodle, but I have been teaching in Blackboard for over a decade. I will have to try Moodle. Great posts! You explained them well.
    Jennifer Marcin

    Like

  2. I have not heard of Moodle. It seems like there are a lot of options for LMS. I have not used Blackboard as a teacher but have used it as a student a couple of times. Thanks for sharing your technologies.

    Like

Leave a comment